Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Premier League Season Awards

League winners Manchester City registered a hat trick in the Premier League season awards announced this week. Ruben Dias was named the league’s Player of the Season, Pep Guardiola garnered Manager of the Season and Phil Foden claimed the Young Player of the Season Award. Dias, acquired from Benfica last summer, transformed the Manchester City defense this season and was involved in 15 clean sheets for the league titlists. The center back was the fourth defender to receive the Player of the Season award and becomes the second Manchester City player in as many years to win the award as City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne was named last year. There will be some disgruntlement in London regarding the naming of Dias as Player of the Season. A certain Tottenham Hotspur striker named Harry Kane led the league in both goals and assists but his candidacy for honors was clearly damaged by Spurs’ disappointing seventh place finish in the table. Manchester City Manager Pep Guardiola won his third Manager of the Season award after leading the Citizens to their third league title in four years. Guardiola’s third win of the award ties him with Jose Mourinho and Arsene Wenger, with all three managers trailing the 11 Manager of the Season awards won by legendary Manchester United Manager Alex Ferguson. An argument for this year’s Manager of the Season could have been made for Ferguson’s fellow Scotsman David Moyes who led West Ham to a European place this season after last year’s relegation threatened campaign for the Hammers. Young Player of the Season Phil Foden registered nine goals and five assists in league play as he stepped into a starring role for the Citizens after the departure following last season of David Silva.

Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Erik Lamela won the Premier League Goal of the Season for his Rabona kick which nutmegged a defender before beating the goalkeeper and finding the net versus rival Arsenal. The Premier League awards are determined by a vote of the public, captains of the 20 Premier League clubs and a selected panel of football experts.   

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave a comment: